My seedlings…

Today my thumbs turned green. Yep i thought I would share and document the progress of my new children. My herb seedlings! I am wanting to start a veggie patch soon but to ease my self into it i thought i would start off with a herb garden. I have some ideas on where i want to put it and how i want to dress it up but first things first i thought i would plant my seedlings.

I have never grown anything from seeds before and my only gardening experience thus far is a few basil and tomato plants i grew last spring. Although they were from cuttings. It totally fascinated me though and felt so proud  once my cherry tomatoes where in my salad! You would have thought i was an expert the way i carried on! The beauty of it is again that once that seed is planted it just wants to grow. Life just wants to keep on living. If you are anything like me, nature truly fascinates me on a daily basis. Everywhere around us there is an order of the earth, things just happening the way they are supposed to in order for life to continue. BEAUTIFUL!

Back to my babies… so I have planted 7 types of herbs and may do some more but so far I have, basil, coriander, peppermint, dill, sage, thyme and parsley. i will keep you updated over the next month to see if they have spouted so fingers crossed.

All up my potting mix, seeds, and planting cups cost me under $15. I figure with herbs ranging in store from $3-$5 a bunch cut and only lasting a few days that is like 4-5 bunches worth for a life time supply of your own. You can pick them fresh and enjoy a intense, fresh flavour. It really doesn’t take much time to do and even for a novice like me, i reckon its worth giving it a go!

Let me know if you have a herb garden and i would love to know your ideas on styling them… potting them just any tips in general! So fingers crossed my babies grow!

“Gardening is how i relax. It’s another form of creating and playing with colours.” Oscar de la Renta

GIMG_2398 IMG_2399

Leave a comment